Board of trustees

Fortune magazine called our board one of the most influential nonprofit boards in the country.


Carl Ferenbach, Chair
Chairman, High Meadows Foundation

Shelby W. Bonnie, Vice Chair
Co-founder, CNET Networks

Ruth DeFries, Ph.D., Vice Chair
Denning Family Professor of Sustainable Development, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology, Columbia University

The Honorable Thomas H. Kean, Vice Chair
Chairman Emeritus, Carnegie Corporation of New York;
Chairman, THK Consulting, LLC

Art Cooley*, Secretary
Naturalist and former Expedition Leader, Lindblad Expeditions


Herb Allen
President, Allen & Company

G. Leonard Baker, Jr.
Managing Director, Sutter Hill Ventures

Joshua Bekenstein
Managing Director, Bain Capital

Michael D. Bills
Founder and CIO, Bluestem Asset Management

Sally G. Bingham, M.Div.
President Emeritus, The Regeneration Project, Interfaith Power and Light

Matt Cohler
General Partner, Benchmark

Christopher A. Cole
Chairman, Ardea Partners, LLC

Christopher Costello
Professor of Natural Resource Economics, Bren School UCSB; Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research

Leslie Dach
Strategic Consultant

Susan Ford Dorsey
President, Sand Hill Foundation

Stanley Druckenmiller

Kirsten J. Feldman
Retired Managing Director, Morgan Stanley;
Chair, Steep Rock Association

Lynn R. Goldman, M.D., M.P.H.
Pediatrician; Dean, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services

Charles J. Hamilton, Jr.
Senior Counsel, Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf, LLP

Griff Harsh
Professor and Associate Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Mark W. Heising
Managing Director, Medley Partners

Alice Hill
Senior Fellow for Climate Change Policy, Council on Foreign Relations

Lisa Keith
Development Consultant

Dani Lambert

Richard J. Lazarus
Howard J. and Katherine W. Aibel Professor of Law, Harvard University

Abby Leigh

Katherine Lorenz
President, Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Frank Loy
Former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs

Secretary Ray Mabus
Former Secretary of the Navy

Susan Mandel
ZOOM Foundation

Marie Lynn Miranda, Ph.D.
Professor of Statistics, Rice University

Kathryn Murdoch
President, Quadrivium Foundation

Susan Oberndorf
President, Susan and William Oberndorf Foundation

Kenneth Olden, Ph.D.
Former Director, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences and the National Toxicology Program/National Institutes of Health;
Former Director of the National Center for Environmental Assessment/U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Stephen W. Pacala, Ph.D.
Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Princeton University

Julian H. Robertson, Jr.
Founder and Chairman, Tiger Management, LLC

Virginia Sall
Co-founder, Sall Family Foundation

Peggy M. Shepard
Co-founder and Executive Director, West Harlem Environmental Action, Inc. (WE ACT for Environmental Justice)

Lise Strickler
Three Cairns Group

David S. Vogel
CEO & Chief Scientist, Voloridge Investment Management

Abigail Wexner
CEO, Whitebarn Associates

Charles F. Wurster, Ph.D.*
Professor Emeritus of Environmental Sciences, Marine Sciences Research Center, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Xue Lan
Cheung Kong Chair Professor and Dean of Schwarzman College, Tsinghua University

Honorary trustees

Gene E. Likens, Ph.D.

George G. Montgomery, Jr.

N. J. Nicholas, Jr.

George M. Woodwell, Ph.D.*

* Founding trustees