Our board of trustees

Fortune magazine called them one the most influential boards in the country

EDF's board meeting
* Founding trustees


Carl Ferenbach
Chairman and Co-founder, High Meadows Foundation;
Co-founder, Berkshire Partners, LLC

Arthur Kern
Vice Chair

Art Cooley*
Naturalist and former Expedition Leader, Lindblad Expeditions

Herb Allen
President, Allen & Company

G. Leonard Baker, Jr.
Managing Director, Sutter Hill Ventures

Michael Bills
Founder and CIO, Bluestem Asset Management

Sally G. Bingham, M.Div.
President, The Regeneration Project, Interfaith Power and Light

Shelby W. Bonnie
Co-founder, CNET Networks

William K. Bowes, Jr.
Founding Partner, U.S. Venture Partners
President, William K. Bowes Foundation

Keith Campbell
Chairman, The Campbell Foundation
Chairman, Campbell & Company

Ruth DeFries, Ph.D.
Denning Family Professor of Sustainable Development, Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology, Columbia University

Ann Doerr
Chairman, Khan Academy

Susan Ford Dorsey
President, Sand Hill Foundation

Stanley Druckenmiller

Kirsten J. Feldman
Former Managing Director, Morgan Stanley

Lynn R. Goldman, M.D., M.P.H.
Pediatrician; Dean, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services

Charles J. Hamilton, Jr.
Senior Counsel, Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf, LLP

Griff Harsh
Professor and Associate Dean, Stanford School of Medicine

Mark W. Heising
Managing Director, Medley Partners

Benjamin Todd Jealous
Partner, Kapor Capital

Kristine Johnson
Executive Director, Kingfisher Foundation

The Honorable Thomas H. Kean
Chairman, Carnegie Corporation of New York

Richard J. Lazarus
Howard J. and Katherine W. Aibel Professor of Law, Harvard University

Abby Leigh

Sarah Liao Sau-tung, Ph.D.
Former Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works, Hong Kong SAR Government; currently Acting Director, The Kadoorie Institute, The University of Hong Kong

Katherine Lorenz
President, the Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation

Frank Loy
Former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs

Dr. Jane Lubchenco
Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University; Former Administrator, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Susan Mandel
ZOOM Foundation

Kathryn Murdoch
President, Quadrivium Foundation

Signe Ostby
Advisor, Center for Brand and Product Management, University of Wisconsin at Madison; Director, The Intuit Scholarship Foundation

Stephen W. Pacala, Ph.D.
Frederick D. Petrie Professor in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology;
Director, Princeton Environmental Institute, Princeton University

Robert M. Perkowitz
President, ecoAmerica; Managing Partner, VivaTerra, LLC

Julian H. Robertson, Jr.
Founder and Chairman, Tiger Management, LLC

Peggy M. Shepard
Co-founder and Executive Director, West Harlem Environmental Action, Inc. (WE ACT for Environmental Justice)

Douglas W. Shorenstein
Chairman and CEO, Shorenstein Properties, LLC

Edward Stern
President, Hartz Capital

Lise Strickler
Environmental Advocate

Sam Rawlings Walton
Boatman, Philanthropist, Entrepreneur

Charles F. Wurster, Ph.D.*
Professor Emeritus of Environmental Sciences, Marine Sciences Research Center, State University of New York at Stony Brook

Honorary Trustees

Roland C. Clement

Gene E. Likens, Ph.D.

George G. Montgomery, Jr.

N. J. Nicholas, Jr.

George M. Woodwell, Ph.D.*

Video: Founded by scientists, we focus on results

Since 1967, we have linked science, economics and law to create innovative, equitable and cost-effective solutions to society's most urgent environmental problems.

Find out more about our mission and history »