Media briefing: Upcoming court's decision on U.S. airlines' attack on European climate law

Environmental groups intervening in lawsuit will review significant events in international arenas since release of Advocate General Opinion in Oct., discuss expectations for Wednesday’s court decision

December 19, 2011
Contact: 

MEDIA ADVISORY for Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2011

WHEN

Tuesday, December 20, 2011
10 a.m. Washington (EST)  |  3 p.m. London (GMT)  |  4 p.m. Brussels (CET)  |  7 a.m. San Francisco (PST)

WHAT

A decision from the Court of Justice of the European Union will be issued Wednesday, Dec. 21 on a suit brought by U.S. airlines and their trade association to block a law that holds airlines accountable for their carbon pollution resulting from flights using airports in the European Union.

In a media briefing Tuesday (20 Dec.), members of a transatlantic coalition of environmental groups who have intervened in support of the EU law will briefly review the core of the legal case; provide updates on significant events since October; discuss what’s likely to happen after the Court’s Dec. 21 decision; and answer reporters’ questions.

WHO

Annie Petsonk, International Counsel, Environmental Defense Fund
Bill Hemmings, Programme Manager, Transport & Environment
Pamela Campos, Attorney, Environmental Defense Fund
Vera Pardee, Senior Attorney, Center for Biological Diversity

WHERE - Dial-in

Within U.S. & Canada: 800-908-8951
International callers (toll-free): +1-303-223-0120

A recording of the conference will be available, please contact Jennifer Andreassen for more information: jandreassen@edf.org

BACKGROUND

Europe’s highest court will issue its decision Wednesday on a suit brought by United/Continental and American Airlines and their trade association to block a law that holds airlines accountable for their carbon pollution resulting from flights to, from and within the European Union.  The law was enacted in 2009, and the limits on airlines’ emissions take effect Jan. 1, 2012.

In October, an Advocate General – a senior legal advisor appointed by the Court of Justice of the European Union – issued a formal recommendation to the Court supporting the legality of the EU law to curb aviation emissions.  The 13-judge Grand Chamber has been deliberating the case since the Advocate General’s opinion was released Oct. 6.

CONTACT

Jennifer Andreassen, Environmental Defense Fund – Washington
+1-202-572-3387, jandreassen@edf.org

Dudley Curtis, Transport & Environment – Brussels
+ 32 485 379945, dudley.curtis@transportenvironment.org

Vera Pardee, Center for Biological Diversity – San Francisco
+1-858-717-1448, vpardee@biologicaldiversity.org