Media Advisory and Expert Availability

List of Energy Efficiency Organizations That Can Respond to Upcoming EPA Proposed Power Plant Proposal

May 28, 2014
Contact: 
Katherine Owens, 512-691-3447, kowens@edf.org

What:

On June 25, 2013, President Obama called on the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to regulate carbon pollution from existing power plants. Next week, on June 2, 2014, EPA is scheduled to release a proposal that will contain a suite of options available to states to reduce their emissions. Energy efficiency provisions may be among the options. The following is a list of national and state-based organizations that can provide reactions to the proposal.

Who:

NATIONAL GROUPS
American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE)
Press contact: Patrick Kiker, 202.507.4043, pkiker@aceee.org
The American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy acts as a catalyst to advance energy efficiency policies, programs, technologies, investments, and behaviors. For information about ACEEE and its programs, publications, and conferences, visit aceee.org.

Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
Press contact for CPS/climate/NRDC’s original proposal: Jake Thompson, 202.289.2387, jthompson@nrdc.org
Press contact for energy efficiency benefits: Pat Remick, 202.289.2411, premick@nrdc.org
The Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) is an international nonprofit environmental organization with more than 1.4 million members and online activists. Since 1970, our lawyers, scientists, and other environmental specialists have worked to protect the world's natural resources, public health, and the environment. NRDC has offices in New York City, Washington, D.C., Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Bozeman, MT, and Beijing. Visit us at www.nrdc.org and follow us on Twitter @NRDC and @NRDCEnergy

Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)
Press contact: Katherine Owens, 512.691.3447, kowens@edf.org
Environmental Defense Fund (edf.org), a leading national nonprofit organization, creates transformational solutions to the most serious environmental problems. EDF links science, economics, law and innovative private-sector partnerships. Connect with us on Twitter, Facebook, and our Energy Exchange Blog

The Institute for Market Transformation (IMT)
Press contact: Amanda Hurley, 202.525.2883 x306, amanda@imt.org
The Institute for Market Transformation (IMT) is a Washington, DC-based nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting energy efficiency, green building, and environmental protection in the United States and abroad. Much of IMT’s work addresses market failures that inhibit investment in energy efficiency. For more information, visit imt.org.

Alliance to Save Energy
Press contact: Rodney Sobin, 202.530.2234, rsobin@ase.org
Alliance to Save Energy is a coalition of prominent business, government, environmental and consumer leaders who promote the efficient and clean use of energy worldwide to benefit consumers, the environment, economy and national security. For more information visit us at www.ase.org or follow us @ToSaveEnergy. 

STATE-BASED GROUPS
Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships (NEEP)
Press contact: Alicia Dunn, 781.860.9177 ext. 110, adunn@neep.org
NEEP was founded in 1996 as a non-profit whose mission is to serve the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic to accelerate energy efficiency in the building sector through public policy, program strategies and education. Our vision is that the region will fully embrace energy efficiency as a cornerstone of sustainable energy policy to help achieve a cleaner environment and a more reliable and affordable energy system.

Southwest Energy Efficiency Project (SWEEP)
Press contact: Suzanne Pletcher, 303.447.0078 ext 5, spletcher@swenergy.org   
SWEEP promotes greater energy efficiency in a six-state region that includes Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming -- a high-growth region that is making great strides in advancing energy efficiency since 2002. Check out our site to learn about the status of energy efficiency efforts in the region, and what SWEEP is doing to help consumers, businesses, utilities, and local and state governments increase energy efficiency.

South-central Partnership for Energy Efficiency as a Resource (SPEER)
Press contacts: Doug Lewin, 512.279.0753, dlewin@eepartnership.org
Mike Gehrig, 512.448.4950, mgehrig@piercom.com
SPEER is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization with a mission is to accelerate the adoption of advanced building systems and energy efficient products and services in Texas and Oklahoma. SPEER works to advance the understanding and adoption of energy efficiency as a low-cost energy resource, driver of economic growth and competitiveness, and air quality improvement strategy. SPEER designs, implements, coordinates, and supports regional projects to promote high energy performance and clean distributed energy in the built environment.